What’s the Method to Your Gladness

“Kill the Cliche before it leads me astray!” is what rolls around in my thoughts just about everyday. I don’t know about you but I’m the type of person who can’t stand hearing and doing the same thing over and over. Predictable and typical responses are like drops of acid falling down upon me until my excitement and zest for healthy pursuits takes a giant step into a different direction.
I know with absolute certainty that if my heart isn’t into something then I find myself chasing down other pursuits. If I’m not glad, excited, delighted, happy, pleased, content, thankful and appreciative of whatever I do: then, I’m pretty sure you can find me where I don’t want to be.
So how do we do it? How do we stay excited and motivated by doing the same things again and again? How do we open up a can of get-these-happy-bubbles-moving-again? What’s the method to strengthen our gladness?
Breathe New Excitement Into Tasteless Routines
I’ve heard of people in Weight Watchers who change up their routines because they know their routines will change them. Some have awakened new interest by challenging themselves to move from online tracking to handheld tracking. Other’s stay motivated through journal writing and experimenting with new recipes.
At our weekly meeting, our leader has a journal book that people borrow for a week so that they can write down their weekly eating practices. Many other people have used the same journal and through participation, it causes you to break out of yourself by knowing that other people are watching you. It’s the hall of fame where previous, ambitious Weight Watchers went the extra mile and now watch from a distance, cheering you on.
Graciously Address the Complacency
When people become complacent they become unaware of potential dangers because they no longer have a desire to push forward and to keep the passion alive. The potential danger for us in Weight Watchers is that we might : unknowingly, slip into old habits that got us nowhere. A gradual build up of not caring anymore can cause us to move on to something else. Being aware of this and dealing with thoughts that may contribute to complacency will help keep the garden unspotted so that lively thoughts can sprout.
Get Ambitious for the Nutritious
Neuroscientists say it’s impossible to be happy and sad at the same time. Could it also be true that you can’t wear ambitiousness and a suit lacking in zeal on the same day?
Some people are able to snap on happiness and other people have to work at it. What I love about our leader is that she gets excited over exercise. When I first heard this foreign remark, I sank into my chair wondering if she only said it to get us motivated. Over the months I kept a close eye on the prosperous members and discovered that the more you say or hear something, you start to like it. The more you like it, the more you love it. The more you love it, the more ambitious you’ll be toward something like nutritiousness.
Although I haven’t mastered the art of stick-to-it-day-by-day-or-else-you-will-decay, I’m working on it and I’m constantly developing practices that will help me continue turning what I need to do into something I love to do.
Happy March!

Leave a Reply

